November, Take 1

IMG_0423

Real talk: Today marks not only day 1 of November, but day 1 of NaBloPoMo, and I’m terrified.

I’m a college senior, aka I have lots of homework AND I’m trying to apply for jobs. I’m also in recovery from an eating disorder, which isn’t exactly a walk in the park either. I fought with myself for weeks over whether or not I wanted to participate in this challenge, because, well, Lord knows I don’t exactly have an abundance of free time.

But in the end, I decided it was worth it.

Why, you ask? Because I love to write. Plain and simple. Because writing, in this past year or so, has given me so much insight into the world. And because in the four weeks since I started hanging out at yeah write, I’ve been blessed with thoughtful readers and a supportive, funny, wonderful community. Why WOULDN’T I participate, when I get a chance to do so with some of the coolest bloggers ever?!

I’m afraid I won’t have enough to say to last 30 days. And that fear is legitimate, because I struggle enough finding something to write about once a week. It’s going to take a lot for me to let go of the persistent perfectionism that orders me to read a post, like, 600 times before publishing it. I will commit to publishing (*GASP*) drafts. I can’t believe I just said that.

I’m not going to let my fear of striking out keep me from playing the game.

Happy NaBloPoMo…one down, twenty-nine to go.

14 comments

  1. You got this! šŸ™‚ I love the collage– and actually, letting go of a little bit of perfection is exactly why I do challenges like this. It keeps things in balance, a bit! šŸ™‚ Looking forward to reading your insights all month long! šŸ˜€

  2. Good for you! Don’t be terrified, just start writing and don’t be too upset if you miss a day. I did NaNoWriMo last year and beat myself all up and down the first day I didn’t make my word count. But it turned out to be a great experience even though I never did make it all the way through. Just have fun with it šŸ™‚

  3. I just stumbled upon your blog today and I’m glad I did! I enjoyed reading your post, even though they weren’t the cheeriest of post I’ve seen before, there’s something about your writing that keeps me fascinated with what you have to say. I look forward to your next 29 posts!

  4. Atta girl, you warrior priestess blogger, you! You can do it! I’m proud of you and excited you’ll be doing the challenge! I’ll be cheering from the sidelines šŸ™‚

    woop woop Go Gwen!!!

  5. I, for one, am VERY excited that you are doing NaBloPoMo (especially since you and I are roughly the same age and we youngin’s need to stick together in this), but also because I think you recovering from an eating disorder will give you a lot to talk about. And even when you think you have nothing to say, I’d like to think that even just a stream of consciousness writing from you would be incrediblyyyy interesting.

    1. yesss. sometimes i feel like i’m missing all the jokes because i don’t have children…ha! but i will do my best to stay interesting šŸ˜› i’ll make sure to keep an eye on your nablopomo too! twenty-something power!

  6. I know the feeling of not having enough to say. I have barely been posting once a week but decided to give NaBloPoMo a try again! My only goal is to beat my # of posts from last year…WE got this!

Leave a Reply

