9 Things I’ve Learned in 9 Days of Blogging

1. I’m already running out of ideas. My 21 years of life have apparently been insufficient in providing me with good anecdotes.

2. Writing is awesome, but I’m pretty sure all my non-writer friends think I’m nuts. This will probably be a common theme for the remainder of my days.

3. Sometimes, my best work isn’t the piece I spend two days revising, but rather the piece I spend 20 minutes on while trying to avoid doing my math homework. Exhibit A: this post, which was Freshly Pressed this week, didn’t even get proofread before I published it. Happy accident?

4. No matter how weird my ideas are, I always get at least one comment that says something along that lines of “me, too!” So apparently I’m not as strange as I thought. That’s a relief.

5. Meeting people in blogging communities is actually not creepy! I always thought of internet friends as the worst kind of stranger danger, but I’ve met some AMAZING people through yeah write. Bloggers are the best.

6. Someday, this blog will be the basis of my memoir. I always kind of knew that, but I know it even more certainly now.

7. Apparently I’m funny? Not sure what to do with that one.

8. Words have the power to connect people. Across continents, generations, and centuries. They can be anyone’s words. They can be mine.

9. Everybody has a story worth telling. Good writing is just finding the right way to tell it.

17 comments

  1. “2. Writing is awesome, but I’m pretty sure all my non-writer friends think I’m nuts. This will probably be a common theme for the remainder of my days.”
    I’m fairly certain my husband already thinks I’ve lost it, and the rest of my friends are wondering why I’m spamming their Facebook pages with links. So yes, I’m fairly certain this will be a common theme for all bloggers/writers until the end of time.
    But here’s to the crazy, the weird, the exciting, and the writing. 😉

    (Also, I’m exhausted. I apologize for the rambling.)

  2. Me…too…running …ideas…running…nothing…
    Which is why I’m trying to break my posts up by posting some quotes or passages I resonate with..not sure if that’ “cheating” but it gives me a small reprieve and same for those who read my blog because I do tend to ramble..lol.

    I see you and Rara have one thing in common…you both love lists!! 😀

  3. My non-writing friends have known I’m weird for ages. I think they love me anyway (?)
    I’m always surprised by #5 as well. It’s quite amazing. And #8 is so true. I love that. (true too about yeahwrite! I think I met you there, in fact!)
    okay, so I’m gonna ask a newbie question. I know what fresh pressed is, but I don’t know how it works. Do “they” scope the blogger world and hand pick posts, or do you (or others) submit you post? congrats btw!! That was HUGE. And congrats on all your groovy yeahwrite badges over there >>
    well done, girly. 🙂

    1. well thank you thank you thank you! and I think someone must have suggested my post, because there’s no way it would have just been “happened” upon…my blog isn’t exactly a traffic hog. I’m a newb as well so I actually have no idea.

  4. “Everybody has a story worth telling. Good writing is just finding the right way to tell it.”

    Thank you for sharing pieces of your story. It’s a good one. I just started blogging today so this encourages me and excites me!

  5. I think I found a soulmate in wordpress 🙂 Dont get me wrong I like boys but your ideas happen to be also may ideas! keep it up!

  6. I suggested that one to FP, ha, which normally I don’t mention except if it weirded you out because of the attention, and if I added to that attention in anyway… I’m sorry! Sometimes I just get excited about posts that resonate!

    I love this list. Check out prompts and things for more ideas– they’re really helpful and they connect you to even more community! 🙂

Leave a Reply

