Fear, I Vanquish Thee

If I could vanquish one emotion from my life, I would immediately choose fear. It’s good, I guess, to be afraid of things that can hurt you, and without nerves things wouldn’t be as exciting. But fear is crippling; it causes blinding insecurities. It hinders your potential and ties you down.

I’m afraid of a lot of things. And I’m afraid there are things I’ll never be able to do because I’m afraid of so much. Right now it just seems easier to sit in my comfort zone, sheltered from the unknown. But who’s to say someday I won’t look back on these years with regret?

I fear fear itself, and its overwhelming power over me. There’s only one thing that keeps me going: the promise I made to myself, the promise that one day, I will teach myself to be fearless.

13 comments

  1. I have my own set of crippling fears. I’m discovering how to kick fear in the butt. When I’m afraid of failing in a particular task, I just plow forward and fail. Take that, fear, I failed and I’m still breathing! What else ya got?

  2. Fear is indeed crippling but fear is a good thing. It is the one which keeps us from doing hazardous things. For the other things, there is no greater joy than conquering your own fears.

  3. Fear is terrifying — and I really recognise myself in this sentence: “Right now it just seems easier to sit in my comfort zone, sheltered from the unknown.” Sometimes I just feel so overwhelmed by the unknown, and all the things I want to do get postponed because I’m too afraid to do them, and too afraid to fail.
    Hopefully, one day, we’ll both be fearless.

    1. My favorite quote sounds kind of like that!

      “Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgment that something else is more important than fear.”

      I like it because it recognizes the legitimacy of the emotion while still encouraging you to stand up to it.

Leave a Reply

