Do You Trust Me?

Aladdin asked the question as he beckoned Jasmine onto the magic carpet. Jack asked the same of Rose right as she was about to jump.

“Do you trust me?”

Four words. Probably the most difficult question four words can create.

You asked me once with your hands behind your back, and I said yes with my fingers crossed. Neither of us really knew how to trust at all.

And now we’re here with a lifetime of what-ifs and should-haves and whys, but I trusted you in all the ways I could. You wanted more than I had. You didn’t mean what you said when you said you could save me.

Someone asked me again today. “Don’t you trust me?” they joked as I tactfully criticized their argument.

I don’t trust you anymore. I don’t believe you.

“Sure I trust you,” I reply with a smile. “Of course I trust you.”

I used to believe you. You broke everything I am into a million tiny jagged pieces.

“I would never lie to you.”

You broke me and you swept me up and you tossed all my fragments into the garbage can. You never thought about me again. How dare you ask me to trust you.

It’s not you asking anymore, but it is. Because since you, the answer can never be yes.

12 comments

  1. I hope that your answer changes one day. Sometimes it will take a long while, sometimes it may take a very significant person or situation to show that you can trust again.:)

  2. I have learned not to make promises any more. I broke them. Not because I wanted to, but because I was unable to follow through with them despite my best intentions. Promises are dangerous. Well intentioned or not.

    1. Yeah, it’s definitely strange that way. I hope the same is true in the other direction – that once I trust one person, it’ll be easier to trust others.

  3. From what I have read and seen here on your blog I can definitely say I believe you to be trustworthy.

    Would I put my life into your hands? Not really sure yet. May be yes.

    Loving your blog.

  4. I have severe Trust issues. I find it so hard to trust people. I didn’t use to, people and bad experiences have done that to me. Great blog post!

      1. Hi, Gwen; I am sorry to hear that, along life’s path, you developed some trust issues. In todays world I can see how that is so very possible. Even myself I find I need to create care  in whatever I do.

        Just letting you know I would do nothing to hurt you or your feelings. not intentionally. I would hope you would not hurt me in any way either. I don’t think you would though.

        Thanks; Mark

Leave a Reply

