8 Things I Wish I’d Known When I Started College

1. 50% of the people who say they know exactly what they want to do with their lives are lying. The other 50% will change their minds. It is damn near impossible to know what you want at 18 – hell, it’s damn near impossible to know at 22. It’s okay not to know. It’s okay to graduate and still not know. It’s okay to turn forty and still not know.

2. College boys are not significantly more mature, attractive, or attainable than high school boys. But also, college is so NOT about finding a boy, no matter what those dumb CWTV shows have to say about it.

3. Innocence isn’t something to be ashamed of. Neither is introversion. Hiding fundamental parts of yourself won’t make you likable, but it will make you miserable.

4. Success after graduation has so little to do with GPA it’s not even funny. And caring about grades more than actually learning is a terrible waste of a $50,000/year education.

5. On a similar note, it is better to be happy and sane and social and well-rounded than to have a 4.0. Sleeping 8 hours the night before a midterm is just as important as studying and doing homework. Spending time with your friends is just as important as building your resume. Seriously.

6. Everyone is fighting a battle. All the time. 99% of the time they won’t share it with you, but it’s there. You are never the only one hurting.

7. It’s so much more valuable to take classes you enjoy than to waste time in ones that seem “practical” or “easy.” The ones you enjoy are the ones you remember, and what is the point of learning a semester’s worth of information if you’re just going to forget it after a week of binge-watching Netflix?

8. Adulthood is a total facade. College graduates are just confused kids who pretend they know how to navigate the real world, but are really just making it up as they go along. You’re never ready to leave college, you just do.

11 comments

  1. 1, 3, and 4– so much yes. I mean, all of them yes, but those three are things that I also really learned in college. Also, 8 — I’m almost two years out of college, and I have a job and I’m doing all right for myself, but I still feel like a kid in a grown-up world!

    1. ahah I have pretty much resigned myself to ALWAYS feeling like a kid in a grown-up world. I mean, at least I’ll be in good company 🙂

  2. A lot of things I can relate to. Especially number 1, I’m basically 9 years after the finish of normal uni years* and I still have no idea, I’m currently in logistics but just sort of fell into the industry. I’m also getting married next year but still feel like that shy little kid inside.
    For Number 2, I dread to think where my life would be now if I’d stayed with my uni boyfriends! I think I would have stayed more child-like inside.

    * I did a year studying in Europe, and then a Masters degree. So in real life I’m only 7 years out of finishing.

    1. Basically, what I’m learning is that nobody has any idea what they’re doing! And stuff works out anyway. That’s SO reassuring.

  3. And it’s okay to turn 50+ and still not know. And really, at the ripe old age of 51, I’m not sure about this whole adulthood thing and often feel like a grown up kid who’s still trying to figure it all out. It’s a journey! And you are an extremely wise 21 year old to understand all of this! ❤

  4. Yeah, these points are so so so true. And the horrible truth is that you actually are never ready to leave college. I do enjoy my university ecperience a lot but If I’d known all this at school I wouldn’t have wanted to grow up faster, seriously.

  5. I’ve been out of college ages – read 5 years and I’m still not sure what I want to do with my life, well kinda…… So I can’t tell you it gets better but I will say not knowing isn’t so bad.

Leave a Reply

